Wednesday, April 26, 2006

Iran Freedom Support Act Overwhelmingly Passes House 397-21

Vital Perspective:
H.R. 282, the Iran Freedom Support Act, which tightens sanctions against investment in Iran passed the House just moments ago by a vote of 397 to 21, with 14 abstentions. More on the bill in this post from earlier today.

Thanks to the overwhelming bipartisan majority that voted for its passage. The 21 congressmen now on the record as voting against a bill to hold the current regime in Iran accountable for its threatening behavior and to support a transition to democracy in Iran are:
Baldwin, Blumenauer, Boyd, DeFazio, Duncan, Flake, Hostettler, Jones (NC), Kucinich, Leach, McDermott, McGovern, McKinney, Oberstar, Obey, Olver
Paul, Rahall, Snyder, Stark, Taylor (MS)
This is great news. Now call your Senators and ask for them to support the Iran Freedom Act, here.